Review: Man of Steel

man_of_steelStarring Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Russell Crowe and Michael Shannon, Man of Steel is the latest reworking of the Superman franchise. Directed by Zach Snyder and produced by Christopher Nolan Man of Steel has already set a record opening for June with an estimated $125 million.

A young boy discovers that he has extraordinary powers and believes that he is not from earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent to earth to do. But to save the world the hero inside of him must emerge and he is set to become the symbol of hope that the world needs.

I can’t say that I have seen any of the other Superman franchise films but I did watch the television working that starred Terri Hatcher. I have never really been interested in Superman either so this was a new experience for me.

At the minute, I am in two minds about the film. The first hour is fine and builds up the story well and explains everything about Superman that you need to know. Henry Cavill is good as Superman. He has the charming good looks along with the muscular body so everyone who looks at him will either want to be him or be with him. Russell Crowe is good as Jor-El as is Michael Shannon as General Zod. All I can really say about the cast is that they where good because no one really stood out or made a huge impact.

The second hour then got a bit boring for me and dragged on too much for me to care. After you have been given this good story build up and story telling you are thrown a number of fight scenes that do the same stunts every five minutes, things blowing up and people shouting and screaming. For me, that is where I lost interest and started to get disappointed. One fight scene was ok but then when the second one came, it played out exactly like the first and this happened for the last hour of the film so you start think “what is the point?”
I also didn’t really like Amy Adams as Lois Lane. I don’t know what it was about her but I just couldn’t watch her and believe she was Lois Lane. She was very soft spoken and very timid and girly and I didn’t expect that of that character.

I didn’t dislike Man of Steel but then again I didn’t love it. You can tell from the minute you sit down that this has really been given the Nolan treatment and everything from the music to the font used for the title tell you that but by judging from the last hour, he really did ground the film and keep is real. The second film is probably going to be the stand out as I think more will happen and things like the action scenes will fit in better and things will flow and move a lot more smoothly. In terms of Superhero films released this year, Superman isn’t a stand out for the best but he isn’t letting the side down just yet.

* * * *

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

